Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN) Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN)

Madagascar Signs National CAADP Compact
23 October 2013

Madagascar has become the 35th African country to sign the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) Compact.

The Madagascar national CAADP Compact was signed in the capital city, Antananarivo, during a high level meeting held on 21 October 2013 and was attended by government, farmer organisations, the private sector, development partners and NGOs. The Compact was signed by representatives of these stakeholder groups. FANRPAN was represented at the event by Ian Mashingaidze, CAADP Programme Manager.

The national Compact envisions a Madagascar in 2025 that has a competitive, sustainable and integrated agriculture sector that ensures food security. The overall objective will be to improve food security and incomes of producers, growth of the rural economy and sustainable utilization of natural resources.

The Compact has five specific objectives, to:
  1. Ensure food security by increasing and diversifying agricultural production;
  2. Promote sustainable agricultural production systems and natural resources management;
  3. Develop commercial value chains the country has comparative advantages on;
  4. Create employment in agriculture and related sectors; and
  5. Improve governance of the agriculture sector.

In developing the national Compact, Madagascar received support from the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and several development partners, e.g. European Union, World Bank, International Fund for Agriculture Development (IFAD) and the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO). FANRPAN contributed through a multi-stakeholder policy dialogue convened on 2 March 2011 to promote the engagement of non-state actors in the national CAADP process.

Rwanda was the first African country to sign the CAADP Compact on 31 March 2007, and is one of the four countries with Burundi, Ethiopia and Malawi to access the Global Agriculture and Food Security Programme (GAFSP) funding. Zimbabwe is expected to be the country next in line, with its national CAADP Compact expected to be signed on 22 November 2013.

The Economic Community for West African States (ECOWAS) is the only Regional Economic Community that has signed since signed a regional Compact (12 November 2009), reviewed its Regional Investment Plan (4 - 9 June 2010) and held a Business Meeting (14 - 17 June 2010). Preparations are currently underway for the Regional CAADP Compacts and Agriculture Policy Frameworks for the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), East African Community (EAC), Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

To date, 11 of the 17 FANRPAN member states have signed national CAADP compacts. The table below shows progress to date on implementation of the CAADP agenda at national level across the continent, with FANRPAN member states in bold.

Countries engaging and expected to formally launch CAADP process (4)Countries working towards signing CAADP Compacts (11)Countries with signed CAADP Compacts (35)
Countries only signed CAADP Compact (7)Countries with Investment plans (4)That have held Business Meetings (24)
Algeria, Egypt, Mauritius, NamibiaAngola, Botswana, Comoros, Congo-Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Sao Tome & Principe, South Africa, South Sudan, Tchad, ZimbabweCameroon, Gabon, Lesotho, Madagascar, Seychelles, Sudan, SwazilandCentral African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Guinea Bissau Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Conakry, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia

Top of page   -   Home   -   Disclaimer
Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network
Octoplus Information Solutions