Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN) Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN)

Tanzania budget speech 2007-08
14 June 2007
Hon. Zakia Hamdani Meghji
Government of Tanzania

Acknowledgements: FANRPAN acknowledges the Ministry of Finance website as the source of this report:


  1. Mr. Speaker, I beg to move that this esteemed House resolves to debate and approve Government proposals for Revenue and Expenditure estimates for the Financial Year 2007/08. This Government budget has been consolidated into four volumes: volume one presents revenue estimates; volumes two and three describe recurrent expenditure estimates for Ministries, Government Departments, Regions, Urban and District Councils; and volume four presents development expenditure estimates for the Ministries, Government Departments, Regions and Councils. In addition, there is the 2007 Finance Bill.

  2. Mr. Speaker, I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere appreciation to everyone, who in one way or the other, contributed to the preparation of this budget, which indeed involved many stakeholders. I would like to thank the Finance and Economic Committee of the Parliament, under the chairmanship of Hon. Dr. Abdallah Omari Kigoda, Handeni Member of Parliament, for their excellent work in keenly scrutinizing the budget proposals and for their very important advice. The Committee’s advice has been of great help in improving the budget that I am presenting today.

  3. Mr. Speaker, for the first time in the history of this Parliament, the Union Parliament had the opportunity in April 2007 to discuss the budget and planning guidelines for the period 2007/08 to 2009/10. The Budget and Planning Guidelines is an important step in the preparation of the budget. I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the Government, to thank the Honourable Members of Parliament for their valuable contributions, which to a great extent, have been taken into account in the preparation of this budget. This procedure will continue to be practiced in the coming years. Jointly, we will use this opportunity to put in place strategies that will facilitate the achievement of our promise for a better life to every Tanzanian.

  4. Mr. Speaker, I would also like to thank all Ministries, Independent Government Departments, Regions, Councils, National and International Organizations, and the Private Sector, for their valuable inputs to the preparation of this budget. Let me take this opportunity to thank the Office of the Attorney General for the timely preparation of the bills and legal notices for this budget. I would also like to thank the Government Printer for the timely publication of this budget speech, the budget books and bills related to this budget. I would also like to express my gratitude to my colleagues in the Ministry of Finance, in particular, the Deputy Ministers for Finance, Hon. Abdisalaam Issa Khatib (MP) and Hon. Mustafa Haidi Mkulo (MP); the Permanent Secretary, Mr. Gray S. Mgonja; and Deputy Permanent Secretaries, Mr. Ramadhani M. Khijjah and Andrew Nyumayo; Heads of Department and all members of staff of the Ministry. Finally, I would like to extend my special thanks to all experts and stakeholders who offered professional suggestions on how to improve the collection of revenue. Their recommendations and advice were taken into consideration in preparing this budget.

  5. Mr. Speaker, we are approaching the end of the first fiscal year of the Fourth Phase Government. During the first year, we witnessed positive achievements and many challenges. Since June 2006, three new Members of Parliament have joined the House. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Honourable Yusuf Rajab Makamba (MP), Nominated Member of Parliament, Honourable Mtutura Abdallah Mtutura, Tunduru Member of Parliament and Honourable Florence Essa Kyandesya (MP). We welcome them aboard our team, that is guided by the philosophy of new zeal, new vigour and new speed. I would also like to congratulate Members of Parliament who have been elected to represent us at the East African Legislative Assembly, namely; Honourable Dr. Didas John Massaburi, Honorouble Dr. Aman Walid Kabourou, Honourable Dr. George Francis Nangale, Honourable Sylvia Kate Kamba, and Honourable Septuu Nasoro. Others are; Honourable Abdallah Ally Hassan Mwinyi, Honourable Dr. Said Gharib Bilal, Honourable Janeth Deo Mmari, and Homourable Dr. Fortunatus Lwanyatika Masha. Their election victory demonstrates the confidence that the people of Tanzania through their Members of Parliament have in them. I wish them success in their new responsibilities of promoting the welfare of the East African Community.

  6. Mr. Speaker, our nation has been honoured to be given senior leadership positions in International Organisations. I would like to take this opportunity once again to congratulate Honourable Dr. Asha Rose Migiro on her appointment as UN Deputy Secretary General. Tanzanians have confidence in her leadership ability. Being the first woman to hold that position at the UN, we trust she will work diligently for the common benefit of the International Community. I would also like to congratulate Honourable Dr. William Shija, who was appointed Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliaments Secretariat. I also, want to congratulate Ambassador Liberatta Mulamula, on her appointment as the first Executive Secretary of the Secretariat of the Great Lakes. These appointments are an honour to our country.

  7. Mr. Speaker, despite the positive developments, we experienced sad events. We lost our colleague, the late Honourable Juma Jamaldin Akukweti, the former Member of Parliament for Tunduru, and former Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office (Parliamentary Affairs), who passed away on 4 January, 2007 following a plane accident. We will always remember the late Akukweti as a hardworking and loving person. We also remember the other Government officials who died on account of the same plane accident that occurred at Mbeya airport; John Bendera, Nathaniel Katinila, and Theresia Nyantori. May God rest their Souls in Eternal Peace, Amen.

Top of page   -   Home   -   Disclaimer
Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network
Octoplus Information Solutions