Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN) Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN)

Nominations for the Southern Africa Drivers of Change Award 2007
8 March 2007
Southern Africa Trust

Media Release

The Southern Africa Trust is pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2007 Drivers of Change award. Officially opened on 8 March, 2007 at the Johannesburg Country Club, the award is expected to attract entries from individuals and organisations in the southern Africa region who in their work to overcome poverty, are making a real and lasting difference in the lives of the poor.

The award is in three categories, namely; civil society, government and business. Recipients in each of the categories will demonstrate innovation in the strategies used to develop and implement better public policy and significance for ending poverty and inequality in southern Africa as a whole. Other criteria are inclusion of diverse voices, especially voices of the poor, and policy work that has a real impact on poverty.

"Fast becoming the region's premier award that recognises innovation in anti-poverty work, the Drivers of Change Award provides a great opportunity to organisations and individuals to gain visibility and recognition in their approach to overcoming poverty. They stand to be acknowledged as leaders in innovation and best practices" says Petronilla Ndebele, the Communications and Partnerships Manager for the Southern Africa Trust.

Ms Ndebele added that "Beyond recognition, the award has great potential to provide a platform for sharing experiences, learning and linking similar initiatives."

The inaugural winner of the Drivers of Change Award for 2006 was Dr José Negrão, who was an influential activist for social justice. Dr Negrão was a distinguished leader in the development of land law for which he is renowned not only in Mozambique but in Africa as a whole.

In the same light, the Treatment Action Campaign received a special commendation for driving change in policies and strategies to address HIV and AIDS.

The Drivers of Change award was established as part of the Mail and Guardian's Investing in the future awards. Nominations for the 2007 Drivers of Change close on 6 July, 2007 and the winners will be announced in October 2007 at a gala event in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Download file Download entry form (240Kb ~ 1 min)

For more information and comments, contact Caroline Nenguke:
Tel: +2711 313 3065;
Mobile: +27 78 459 0152

The Southern Africa Trust is an independent, regional, non-profit agency established to support deeper and wider engagement in policy dialogue to overcome poverty in Southern Africa. More information on the award and the Trust can be accessed at

Top of page   -   Home   -   Disclaimer
Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network
Octoplus Information Solutions